Scanwich is the new Sandwich

by allthingsace

Jon Matthew Chonko captured my heart few weeks ago when I discovered his Scanwich Tumblr. He combines two of my most favourite elements in the material world, art and sandwiches. Just ask @sandwichtown.

Ollapolla asks Chonko, “But what does Jon finds fascinating in such a product?”

To which this scanwich master replied:

I love the flexibility of sandwiches. The have such simple rules. Anything you put between bread. That means that sandwiches can be incredibly diverse. I am always fascinated by the wild sandwiches people come up with. I also really love the history of sandwiches. Every famous sandwich has some reason for existing and it’s usually a good story. I love learning the origins and evolutions of sandwiches out there. I’m not sure I dislike anything about sandwiches. I usually start eating a sandwich even before I’ve finished making it.

Every famous sandwich has some reason for existing and it’s usually a good story.

An analogy for us humans? Perhaps — I mean yes, it absolutely is.

powerHouse Calls Presents: Scanwiches: The Fluffernutter from powerHouse Books on Vimeo.

I am currently collecting responses to the question: What is your favourite sandwich?

If you aren’t on Facebook or Twitter, leave your response in the comments below. Let’s get this sandwich party started!

Here is one response I have already received from @hunkefunk:

Clever.

